Skip to main content

Australian Aged Care Overview

Australian Aged Care System – High Level Introduction

The Australian aged care system basically comprises 4 component parts which we summarise below and address in more detail elsewhere on the website.

Access to all federal Government supported aged care services - both home care and residential - commences with contacting My Aged Care through the website or the call centre on 1800 200 422.

Once contact is made a representative will discuss your needs and ask questions with respect to:

  • Any current support you may be receiving
  • If you have any health issues
  • How well you are managing activities in and around your home
  • Your safety at home

As a result of this discussion you will either be referred directly to support services or to an individual, face-to-face home support assessment conducted by either a Regional Assessment Service (RAS) or, if you have broader or complex needs, an Aged Care Assessment Team (ACAT) - please see the schematic at the bottom of this page.

Australian Aged Care: 4 Component Parts

1. The Commonwealth Home Support Programme (CHSP)

This programme provides access to what are referred to as entry-level support services designed to allow individuals to live independently and safely at home; including help with housework, personal care, meals, social support, nursing care, equipment, allied health and home maintenance.

Eligibility is assessed by a Regional Assessment Service (RAS).

2. Home Care

The services provided within the 4 "Home Care Packages" are designed for those with more complex care needs that extend beyond the support services available under the Commonwealth Home Support Programme.

Eligibility is assessed by an Aged Care Assessment Team (ACAT).

3. Residential Aged Care

Residential aged care involves providing access to a range of care options and accommodation for older people who are unable to continue living independently in their own homes. Care provided ranges from assistance with personal care to nursing care on a 24-hour basis.

Eligibility is assessed by an Aged Care Assessment Team (ACAT)

4. Flexible Care

Flexible Care encompasses a range of programmes providing aged care outside the mainstream programs, including transitional care for elderly individuals who have been recently hospitalised, care in remote or indigenous communities and programmes designed to test innovative new ways of delivering assistance.

Eligibility is assessed by an Aged Care Assessment Team (ACAT).


If you would like to arrange professional advice in relation to the above matters, please complete the Inquiry form below providing details and you will be contacted accordingly. You will receive a fee quotation in advance of any advice or services being provided.